About Us

Lunch Break History

In 1983, Norma Todd and the founding members of Lunch Break had a vision of a caring community — one in which its members are looked after, fed, and nurtured in soul and body. Working to alleviate hunger for underemployed people struggling to make ends meet, Lunch Break began offering individuals and families the assistance they needed for today, with the hope for a better tomorrow. Since then, we have evolved into much more than a place for a hot lunch and a food pantry.

Decades later, Lunch Break continues to provide life’s basic necessities of food, clothing, life skills and fellowship to the financially insecure individuals and families in Monmouth County and beyond. Over the years, through the support of individual donors, foundations, the corporate and business communities and a network of more than 2,000 volunteers, we have expanded our feeding, clothing, outreach, mentoring, and social service programs. We offer hope through our Life Skills Program, a job readiness initiative that helps clients gain the skills and tools necessary for self-sustainability.

It is because of YOUR generous donations, we have been able to help our neighbors who experience poverty, hunger and isolation. restoring their dignity. Thank you for being our partner in community building.

Giving local, stays local, helps locals. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. #whywebreak #givelocal

Mission Statement


As a caring community, Lunch Break freely provides food, clothing, life skills and fellowship to those in need in Monmouth County and beyond.


We strive to break the cycle of poverty for those we serve and guide our community members in need to self-sufficiency and healthier, more productive lifestyles. 


We serve everyone with compassion and dignity. 


“Your kindness may seem simple to you, but it means everything to me.” Jane- Lunch Break Guest



Gwendolyn Love
Executive Director

Milagros (Millie) Jeter
Director of Administration

Tyrone Burr
Chef/Kitchen and Pantry Manager

Chuck Watson
Director of Operations

Sharda Jetwani Love
Program Director

2020 Lunch Break Staff

Board of Trustees

John Klein

Mimi Keenan
Vice President

Steven Haugenes

Nancy Karpf

Phil Antoon

Michael Bagnell

Michael Blechman

George Chrysanthopoulos 

Christopher Cole 

Maura Creekmore

Josephine Guttadauro

David Hinton

Juanita Lewis

Brian McEvily

Trudy Parton

Dr. Carol Penn, DO, ABOM

Tina Pflaster

Lou Scaduto, Jr. 

Tori Sickles

Kim Tsimbinos

Frances Statter, Emeritus

Mike Wright 

Gwendolyn O. Love
Executive Director


John Klein, President

Mark Brahney, Vice President

Gwendolyn Love, Secretary

Christopher Brett

Kristi Bridges

Memone Crystian

Warren Diamond

Bonnie Featherstone- Johnson

Joseph Garofalo

Andrea Guttadauro Angioletti

Paul Hooker

Marshall Knopf

Joseph Kyrillos

Abe Littenberg

Victoria Puckett

Carol Stillwell